Nanjing historically known as Jinling, is the capital of Jiangsu Province.  Adjacent to the Yangtze River and surrounded by mountains, it is gifted with humid climate and magnificent landforms.  It is the political, economic, cultural, and transportation center of the province.  With a history of more than 2,460 years, it is one of China’s seven major ancient capital cities, and a total of 10 feudal dynasties ever founded capital here.

Confucius Temple
Nanjing Confucius Temple is for consecrating and worshipping Confucius, the great thinker and educator of ancient China.  The temple was first built in 1034 in the Song Dynasty, expanded on the basis of the Imperial Academy of the East Jin Dynasty.  The complex consists of Confucius Temple, the Imperial Academy and Gonyguan where provincial and national examinations ere held.

Dr. Sun Yatsen Mausoleum
Sprawling on the southern slope of Mt. Zhongshan, the mausoleum is where Dr. Sun Yat-sen (1866-1925), a great pioneer in Chinese revolutionary history, is buried.  The construction of the mausoleum started in 1926 and was completed in 1929.  Covering an area of 80,000 square meters and laid out in the shape of a liberty bell, it is a state-class scenic resort.

Linggu Temple
Some 2,000 meters east of the Mausoleum of Dr. Sun Yat-sen, the temple is a famous Buddhist temple in Nanjing.  The Wuliang Hall in the temple is 22 meters high and has n beams, thus also known as Beamless Hall.

written by

The author didn‘t add any Information to his profile yet.

Comments are closed.

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!
© Copyright 2013 - Marco Polo Tours (A Division of Marco Polo Travel Ltd) - BC Reg No. 1242-3